Makeup Brushes: The deep cleansing treatment.

We all know that its important to keep your makeup brushes clean. Nobody wants extra gunk or buildup (or bacteria) on their face, so its important to wash them. But CONDITIONING! Thats, to me, what makes or breaks your brushes.

My current collection.

My current collection.

For me, my makeup brush collection is made up of many parts: expensive brushes from makeup counters (for me, its my MAC brushes), brushes you can find at Target (Sonia Kashuk), CVS, ULTA, etc, and paint brushes. Thats right: paint brushes- the ones you get from Michaels, Hobby Lobby, AC Moore, etc…. I have all of these in my possession and use almost all of them. Often. The ones I use daily, get cleaned more often than the others, and I wanted to share with y’all on how I keep my collection in tip-top shape.

Baby Shampoo

Baby Shampoo

Johnson&Johnson Baby Shampoo is a great thing. It smells like my little siblings did when they were babies, so the nostalgia is really nice for the ol’ heart strings, but its gentle and effective. I use this to get all the excess stuff out of my brushes.

image_2

Extra Virgin Olive Oil is a very handy conditioner. Keeps your brush fibers nice and soft and gives them a nice finish so that way they don’t scrape your face. (Nobody wants that!)

I use both of those in small amounts, just enough to get the job done, and then I lay all my brushes to dry on a cheesecloth overnight to dry. (Or sometimes just out on my makeup table).

I’ve been thinking about purchasing this professional brush cleanser because of its lovely vanilla scent, and its quick-drying, sanitizing powers. And heck, its better than the blue crap you can get at Sallys, but that will do the trick if you’re in a pinch!!!

Clean, Happy Brushes.

Clean, Happy Brushes.

Have a good one, y’all,

Sarah Montana

One thought on “Makeup Brushes: The deep cleansing treatment.

Leave a Reply

