Sad day for a parfait.

20140811-221609-80169002.jpg

I spent my day off resting in bed. Blame it on the joys of being a woman. Once the Midol kicked in, and I was feeling better, I took a trip to our local grocery store to pick up some produce and food that was needed to fill the fridge and keep our bellies full of home cooked awesomeness for the week. I always get inspired when I am there. Something about surrounding myself with endless possibilities… In any case. I came home and of COURSE had a hankering for something sweet. Douglas took on the job of cooking our meal and did a rather lovely job. He made a gorgeous and colorful vegetable stir fry with some thin beef strips and brown rice. He added some tikka masala sauce to his meal, and I just sprinkled some teriyaki sauce on mine (my tummy can only handle light and bland foods on the first and second day of my period). So to compliment our meal, I made a parfait. And not just any parfait: a chia seed and yogurt and peach parfait.

20140811-215437-78877012.jpg
Layers of goodness!!

Peach, Chia Seed Pudding and Yogurt Parfait
(Serves two)

Chia Seed Pudding
1/4 cup milk (we drink organic 2% round here)
3 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/2 tbsp honey (optional, use more or less to sweeten to your liking).

Mix all ingredients together and put in the fridge. Stir it every 5-10 minutes to help it thicken without clumping.

Yogurt
1 cup Greek yogurt (I prefer Fage 0% Greek yogurt myself)
2 tbsp sweet cream coffee creamer (in my defense, I was being creative with what I had)
1 tbsp honey
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp vanilla protein powder (optional)

Whisk all in a bowl and set in the fridge until you are ready to assemble the parfait.

Dice one peach into small pieces and sprinkle with a little sugar, agave or nothing. Whatever tickles your fancy.

Assembly

Using two jam canning jars or small mason jars or one mason jar (if you want to be selfish (I wouldn’t blame you it’s soooo good)), spoon yogurt into your jar so there’s a good even layer. Then spoon a heaping spoonful of chia seed pudding on top. Then, put a layer of peaches, some oatmeal, granola, ground almonds, or whatever you want on top. I put a heaping spoonful of oats. Then drizzle a little honey. Repeat all steps until your jars are full. We had enough to do two of each layers. Top with honey or sugar or whipped cream or fruit or what have you and you can either dig in right then and there, or close it and save it for later. Douglas and I both are ours in minutes. They were TOO. GOOD.

20140811-220628-79588815.jpg

I could have eaten two of these mamma jammas myself…..

Lastly, I would like to end this by saying the world lost a brilliant actor tonight, and by far my most favorite actor of all time, Robin Williams. His talent was endless and his roles touched the lives of many. It broke my heart to read of his passing. I actually walked into the kitchen while Douglas was cooking dinner, and broke the news to him as tears were rolling down my face. Suicide is a preventable death and if you are ever feeling the deepest sorrows, reach out to someone. Anyone. There are countless suicide hotlines. Please. Don’t make your family and friends go through the pain of your loss. Take care of
each other and look out for one another and know someone in this world loves you for who you are because you are perfect.

20140811-221308-79988543.jpg

RIP

Have a good one, y’all,
Sarah Montana

Leave a Reply

