Triumphant Return!!!

Well hello everyone, MANY apologies for such a delay. I spent 8 amazing days in Florida on a vacation with Douglas, and my parent’s oven was broken! I went many days without baking and something just wasn’t right in the world. But never fear! I return with a recipe for you to try out, in hopes that you will forgive my extended absence!!

If you’re anything like me, you wake up and already your sweet tooth is calling out for something delicious. While I have visited the grocery store twice since we landed on Friday night, my trips have been short and for absolute necessities… Lucky for me, todays recipe is simple, and I have everything I needed laying around!

image(10)

I feel like almost everyone has canned black beans in their pantry. Canned food is a staple in most homes, and black beans are such a versatile item that you shouldn’t live without. Some of you may be new to this idea, but black beans are GREAT when you use them in brownies. I know, I know, it sounds SO WEIRD, but believe me, these brownies are SO FREAKING GOOD.  What is even better about this recipe: there is NO flour. So its GLUTEN FREE. Yeehaw. AND! You can make them vegan if you wanna. (Kateland friendly!)

Black Bean Protein Brownies

(adapted from a recipe on Tastofhome.com)

1 15 oz can black beans (rinsed)

1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (Vegan option: vegan chocolate chips or chunks)

3 tbsp coconut oil (canola, sunflour, almond work too!)

3 large eggs (Vegan option: 3 tbsp chia seeds mixed with 6 tbsp water. Let them sit until they become a nice thick mix (stir often!)

2/3 cup brown sugar (packed)

1/2 cup cacao powder  (or cocoa powder!)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

(Feel free to mix in other goodies, marshmallows (vegan or not), nuts (if you’re into that kinda thing), cookie chunks, chia seeds (for extra omega 3’s!), etc etc)

You can also drizzle melted cookie butter, peanut butter or any other nut butter on top for some tasty variation!!!

1. Mix the black beans, chocolate chips and oil of your choice in a high powered blender or food processor.

2. Add all other ingredients until the batter is nice and whipped and smooth.

image(11)

Looks like real brownie batter to me!

3. Dump the delicious mixture into a 9″ square pan (I used an 8×11 because my square one died when I moved from Montana to Nashville (RIP). Make sure that pan is sprayed down with pam or rubbed down with some oil so it doesn’t stick!

4. Pop into a preheated 350*F oven for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick comes out nice and clean.

image(13)

5. Enjoy!! They’re always good with a glass of milk mmmm.

image(12)

Someday, I will bake when I have a day off with Douglas. My photos do the foods no justice. And Douglas can make ANYTHING look good- even with his cell phone. Just imagine what he can do with a camera!

I’m gonna be back sooner this time with more tidings of joy and good foods!!

Have a good one, y’all!

Sarah Montana

2 thoughts on “Triumphant Return!!!

  1. I’m anxious to try it, but I fear that “black bean” is not the same around here. Are they some kind of special bean, or just the same beans found in chilli?

    Like

Leave a Reply

