Whole30 Day 3/30

I have to apologize that this entry is a day late. Yesterday was not the best of days for me, overall. I found myself with a headache (expected) but also very emotional. (Unexpected, and its not *that* time of the month, either). Around 4:30pm, I went to the grocery store to get a few things for dinner (I was tired of chicken patties- which I’d had for 3 meals within the last day and a half). I read on Aidells website that they had products at the grocery store closest to me. I generally HATE that grocery store (their product section is small, and the quality is AWFUL) but I was in a hurry and was very hungry and this was a food emergency (haha). I grabbed a spaghetti squash (which I’d never tried before), a peach (that looked good when I picked it but it was GROSS by the time I got home), a potato and then headed to the sausage section. I found an Aidells sausage, but it was cajun something-or-other and thats not really something I’m into. (I’m pretty bland!) And, unfortunately for me, that was the only thing of that brand in the store. I checked the other sausages and NOTHING was compliant. So I walked over to the bacon and breakfast sausage and was met with the same fate. NOTHING COMPLIANT. By this time, I had started to throw an inner temper tantrum in my head, and had to reach out to my friend Lisa (who started her W30 journey today!) just to vent for a minute. I generally hate to vent to people other than my super close network of friends, but I feel very connected to Lisa in a way, and since she’s going through this, I wanted to give her a heads up on how I feel so she could mentally prepare herself for the onslaught of emotions.

Anywho, here’s what I ate yesterday.

image1 (1)

Breakfast 9:30AM

2 hardboiled eggs (make that 1 1/2 because I am SO OVER EGGS), and a fruit smoothie (pineapple chunks, raspberries, strawberries, coconut cream (I checked my label!) and the driest tartest cranberry juice on the planet (Yes, its compliant).

11AM came around and there was that old familiar friend- sugar cravings. I just drank some water and jumped into some tv shows on my DVR.

image2

Lunch 12:30PM

I made more broccoli cauliflower stuff and added some cut up (compliant) chicken patties. I forced myself to eat this because its good for me, but it tasted so bland. This was when the emotional breakdown began……

3PM I had a snack of raw almonds because I needed SOMETHING and I really just wanted chocolate.

FullSizeRender

Dinner 6PM

I made spaghetti squash and homemade spaghetti tomato sauce. My sauce was all with compliant items and I will tell you it was AMAZING AMAZING. I was proud of myself and needed that little win in my day. As far as spaghetti squash goes- if you’ve never had it before, I want to tell you about it. I sliced it into rings, because that was what everyone on the Whole30 Instagram recommended. It will come out in long, beautiful strands and you will be so excited to have spaghetti once again. But let me tell you, the texture was a BIG ISSUE for me. It wasn’t soft like a noodle; it was crunchy. And I can’t quite think up something similar. Maybe like coleslaw? Softer coleslaw. Yeah, thats it. So. Now you know its not like spaghetti at all but bland, flavorless coleslaw…. even salt and pepper and italian seasoning wont save this stuff. I don’t think I’ll eat it again, to be honest with you.

All these emotions- I can’t believe they’re related to food. (And I’ve also got some tough stuff going on in my life thats just adding to the pain.

What I wouldn’t give for some Reeces Stix right now….

Have a good one y’all,

Sarah Montana

Leave a Reply

