Whole30 Day 5/30

I’m 1/6th of the way done! Wahoo! (I’m celebrating the little things today-haha).

Well. So far so good. My headaches have gone away. My emotional rollercoaster has evened out. My cravings are still there, but I am able to maneuver around the grocery store with less temptation to dive head first into the “fresh” donuts. I have to chalk up a lot of my success so far to the fact that I’ve been home for the last 8 months, so I have the ability to cook fresh meals for myself when I am hungry. I don’t have to prep anything or figure out how to make something to-go. I am grateful for that opportunity at the very least. Its also easy when my boyfriend is away. While I selfishly wish he were home to snuggle with and hang out with, since he is not doing the Whole30 with me, its easier to fight temptations for pizza when he is gone. With that said, hes coming home (hopefully!) next week, so I will have to be tough and not want to go eat all the bad things. I am lucky in the fact that he is very open minded when it comes to food, and will eat almost anything I make, so, when he’s home for dinner, he will eat what I make, but might have a beer or two. (I don’t drink alcohol so thats not a big dealio for me). I just hope that we can find a restaurant or two that will cater to my restrictions so we can enjoy a meal (or two!) out together when he gets home.

I also have a few things I’ve learned about the W30 program that don’t sit well with me. For one, we are supposed to eat 3 meals per day and try not to snack. I’ve NEVER been able to do this in my life. I am a small meals person, and graze throughout the day. This, as studies have shown, is better for your metabolism after all! I understand the psychology of ‘snacking’ but I am pretty good at limiting the quantity of food I eat when I snack, and stick to (obviously) compliant things (like a piece of fruit or some raw almonds or some carrot sticks). So I will continue to snack when I need to, but I will certainly keep drinking water (as sometimes you may THINK you’re hungry, but you’re actually dehydrated!)

And two, they aren’t to keen on smoothies. This I don’t understand; but for someone who got sick of eggs by day 3, and doesn’t think of chili as a good idea for breakfast, I’m gonna keep having compliant smoothies. And actually, yesterday’s smoothie held me tight until lunch- I didn’t actually eat that banana (from the picture) until lunch time! So I will also take that as a win for the smoothie team. In any case- Whole 30 has rules which (in my opinion) can be broken. So long as I stick to compliant foods and snacks and drinks, I’m gonna keep on this path to self-righteousness.

image1 (4)

Breakfast 9:30AM

I had the tiniest smoothie ever. (Strawbs, almond milk, cranberry juice, coconut cream). I was out of fruit so this was all I could get. Thats an 8oz glass and about half full. I had to supplement with a scrambled egg so I wouldn’t tip over from hunger. (I made a grocery run after breakfast!)

image2 (2)

Lunch 12:00Noon

After the failed sausage attempt at the bad grocery store the other day, I put my smarty pants on and went to the grocery store I usually shop at. And much to my amazement, they carried the Aidells sausages. And they had SO MANY CHOICES. I wanted to cry from happiness, but instead, I grabbed a pack of the chicken apple sausages and went on my way. OH. MY. GAWSH. You guys- whether you are into Whole30 or not you are going to LOVE these guys. In fact, they were so good, I made a second one after finishing the above pictured plated). So 2 chicken apple sausages, kale chips a kiwi and a cherry lime LaCroix. I was so happy with my lunch today.

2:30PM I got hungry for a snack, so I had one of the most perfect navel oranges I’d ever had in my life.

image3 (2)

Dinner 6:00PM

I made a wee little steak and roasted some potatoes (enough for leftovers!) and had a Nestle Pure Life sparkling water. (And more regular water!) It was hearty and manly and delicious. I ate early enough that I will probably have a snack before bed. I’m thinking one of the new bananas I got look pretty tasty right about now!

Anywho. Thats it. 5 days almost complete. September 1st will be here before you know it. (Thats my birthday month!)

(I keep thinking about what I want to eat for my first non-compliant food. Right now its between German chocolate (that I get specially delivered from my favorite German), Icelandic chocolate (because I’m obsessed with Iceland and can get it at Whole Foods) or donuts. Maybe all of the above. I’m going to dangle the idea of those things in front of my face as I plow through the next 25 days.

Have a good one y’all!!!!

Sarah Montana

Leave a Reply

