Whole30 and why I am on the verge of quitting….

I haven’t updated my meals from yesterday and today because I have hit a wall. I’ve heard about anger, and headaches, and the 1/3 of the way bloating, but I didn’t know that my depression would get worse. So far, the only benefit I have seen on this diet, is better bowel movements, but honestly, I don’t feel like I’ve lost weight, I don’t see my skin getting ANY better, I still have allergies, my joints still hurt like hell…. so whats the point?! I even watched a video from Nightline and a dietitian was talking about the missed nutrients while on this diet. Calcium. Its super important for everyone, especially women. And tonight I learned you need to eat an entire package of spinach in order to get the same amount of calcium as in 1 glass of 2% milk. WHO THE HECK WANTS TO EAT AN ENTIRE PACKAGE OF SPINACH AT ONCE!? I know its good for you. I know I need more greens in my diet, but if you’re anything like me, I get tired of eating the same thing day in and day out. I burned myself out on eggs by day 3. I am ok with eating them now, but thats because I took a break and had some smoothies. I even looked up a list of 20 foods that have calcium in it and, aside from greens, there was sardines (ew), cheese, yogurt, tofu, edamame….all things I can’t eat. I understand eating for my health, but is mental health not important too?! Before I started this, I ate a decent diet. Not the best. But not the worst. I don’t eat McDonalds. I try to eat a lot of organic stuff. I was just going to do this for the ‘OMG WOW’ factor that I’ve read about. I feel like this is a diet similar to Atkins or Paleo or whatever the latest fad is. And when people get through the 30 days, I feel like most people (not all) will fall back into their old habits. For me, my old habits weren’t the worst, and I certainly want to make sure I am incorporating more fruits and veggies in my diet, but I honestly think it might be best to slowly transition back into more foods. Going out to eat is a nightmare and an inconvenience. I HATE being a pain in the ass. Its embarrassing. But I think if I make smart choices with the food I eat, and get a tiny box of froot loops when I am craving them, instead of a big box, I won’t think to myself ‘well I don’t want to waste that whole thing’. I am not about to run to the kitchen to grab peanutbutter and chocolate just yet, but I am going to think about this long and hard. But as of right now, I think I am going to be ‘that guy’ and quit on day 10/11- the days where most people quit. I’ll let you know……

Leave a Reply

