My Whole30 Rebellion….

Now that I’ve had a few days away from the strict rules of the Whole30 program, I’ve got a few thoughts. During the program, you are NOT allowed to weigh yourself. The reason is simple: the founders don’t want the concept to be all about losing weight. Makes perfect sense to me. But then again, I feel like a majority of people go on these fad diets solely for the weight loss factor. Yes, there are many people who are trying to have healthier eating habits and honestly want to ‘quit sugar’. There are also those with health issues that could benefit, say someone with diabetes. But for the general population of people, such as myself, who want to lose weight but eat healthier, I feel like there are other options than such a strict regimen of what you can and cannot eat.

In the 10 days that I played the game, I lost 5 pounds. Thats pretty good! I haven’t been at this weight in quite a while. Especially after my surgery, I gained a few pounds, lost a few and then now I’ve lost 5 more. I will say that there is some merit to this diet if you are looking to lose weight. But I also feel like I can watch my sugar intake, and still eat more of the foods I want, such as a bowl of cereal. And if you’d seen my twitter account in the last week, you saw that I’ve been talking about how I would’ve done some things in order to have a bowl of Fruit Loops (Froot loops?) So when I was in the cereal section of Target the other night, I started checking my labels. I was looking at the ‘healthy’ and ‘organic’ boxes, and each serving had between 5-10 (10!) grams of sugar per serving. I then grabbed a box of good ol’ Cheerios and checked: only ONE gram of sugar per serving. ONE! Not to mention the whole grains that are contained in those beautiful tiny o’s. I’ve had a bowl of Cheerios the past few mornings with organic milk and a banana and I feel great. The carbs I get from the Cheerios and the banana give me enough energy to start my day, or help me through a little in home workout, like I did this morning. Starting your day with a healthy cereal (or oatmeal!) is great to keep you full, so long as you are also having some sort of fruit and/or protein with it so you aren’t eating empty carbs.

For lunch and dinner last night, I stuck to the W30 program for the most part. Steak, brussel spouts and baked fries for dinner, franks red hot chicken drumsticks and red potatoes for lunch (with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese- Its ALL about moderation!) I just got a 40oz water bottle from Target, and have had either water or LaCroix to drink, and tried to stick to fruits and veggies for between meal snacks. (Dessert last night was a navel orange and 2 thin mint girlscout cookies. (The serving size is 4, and I think the serving size amount of sugar is 5 grams….not bad!)

So yes, I am still glad I left the diet. I did lose 5 pounds while on it, but so long as I stick to being W30 compliant 50% of the time (or more!) and continue working out at physical therapy, on my stationary bike in my basement, or hopefully joining a gym soon, I will be able to lose some weight, tone my muscles, and build muscles in my leg to protect my knees from further injury. (If I hurt my right knee one more time, I’m going to scream…..)

Ps. If you want to be friends on the ‘MyFitnessPal’ app, my username is: SarahMontana666!

Have a good one y’all,

Sarah Montana

Leave a Reply

